The Chess Variant Pages



Rules of Chess: Knights

This webpage gives the answers to some frequently asked questions about the official rules of chess regarding Knights. For the full rules of chess, see another webpage.

Can the knight move when it does not jump over a piece?

Yes. See in the diagram below.

Can the knight jump over pieces of the same player?

Yes. See in the diagram below.

Can the knight jump over pieces of the opponent?

Yes. See in the diagram below.


Written by Hans Bodlaender
WWW page created: January 2, 2003.